MELANIE THORNE and PAM HOUSTON -- Wednesday Evening!

Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 7:30pm
Body: 

 

 

 

 

 

Debut novelist Melanie Thorne celebrates Hand Me Down by talking with the beloved Pam Houston, whose newest book is Contents May Have Shifted.


 

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

 

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

 

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

 

Talking and reading with Melanie this evening is Pam Houston, the amazing author of Cowboys Are My Weakness, Waltzing the Cat, Sight Hound, A Little More About Me, and the new Contents May Have Shifted, and about whom Melanie writes, “In addition to being an amazing writer, Pam is also a kind and generous person and one of the best teachers I’ve ever had. I was lucky enough to work with her at UC Davis for several years and she was the chair of my graduate thesis committee, which advised me on the very first draft of Hand Me Down, though it was originally titled something less interesting that no one liked.”  

 

 

What a pleasure it is to welcome both Melanie and Pam this evening!

 

 

 

Books: 
Hand Me Down Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780525952688
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Dutton Books - April 12th, 2012

Contents May Have Shifted Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780393082654
Availability: Out of Print
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 6th, 2012