The Last Word (Hardcover)

The Last Word By Gerri Lewis Cover Image

The Last Word (Hardcover)

$29.99


On Our Shelves Now
13 on hand, as of Apr 24 4:08am
(EVENT BOOKS)
An obituary writer finds one of her neighbors dead before her time in this debut cozy mystery perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Eva Gates.

Obituary writer Winter Snow is no stranger to grief, and writing obituaries for the citizens of Ridgefield, Connecticut, is her way of providing comfort to those who have been in her shoes. But funerals and eulogies are meant for the dead, so when the very much alive Leocadia Arlington requests her own obituary by the end of the week, Winter’s curiosity is piqued. Even more so when she finds Mrs. Arlington dead soon after. Officer Kip Michaels and his relentless partner Tom Bellini make it clear that Winter is under suspicion for the death.

Drafting an obituary for someone who hadn’t died yet certainly looks bad, but Winter knows that it wasn’t her, and she becomes obsessed with trying to figure out the real killer. She dives headfirst into the investigation to give Mrs. Arlington and herself some peace. When Winter realizes Mrs. Arlington was working on a revealing memoir that has now gone missing, Winter begins to wonder if the death wasn’t exactly random–accident or otherwise. 

With the help of her foodie Uncle Richard, her wise octogenarian neighbor Horace, her best friend Scoop, and Diva, the Great Pyrenees puppy she inherited from Mrs. Arlington, Winter must uncover the killer before the next obituary written is her own.
Gerri Lewis started her career as a freelance writer and has published over 1,400 features, news stories, obituaries, and columns. Along with writing her novels, she continues to write magazine features for O68 Magazine. Her cover features appear regularly and her HOW WE MET column was a popular staple of the magazine for many years. Her accolades include feature-writing awards from the New England Press Association and the Society of Professional Journalists, among others. Beyond journalism, Gerri works as a public information officer for the Ridgefield Office of Emergency Management. A graduate of the University of Connecticut, Gerri lives with her husband in Ridgefield, Connecticut and the setting for her obituary writer mystery, The Last Word.
Product Details ISBN: 9781639106318
ISBN-10: 1639106316
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: February 20th, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English
Praise for The Last Word:
“This cozy debut features an unusual job for an amateur sleuth and a likable cast of characters to rival those of Jenn McKinlay’s cozies.”
Library Journal

“Numerous plot twists . . . a budding romance, details of obituary writing, and the lovingly described Ridgefield, Connecticut, setting add up to a satisfying cozy.”
Booklist

“Lewis has created a fun, playful world—despite a murder—that many cozy readers will love to return to.”
First Clue

“A good start to a new series, with interesting characters, a small-town feel, and a cute dog.”
Red Carpet Crash

“A fast-paced caper . . . Lewis has created a witty and eminently likable sleuth.”
—Annelise Ryan, USA Today bestselling author A Death in Door County

“Who knew the obit business could be so funny—and so dangerous? This cleverly plotted cozy mixes the inevitability of death with the surprise of murder with wit and wisdom and good-old New England know-how. Obituary writer Winter Snow is a character readers will want to come back to again and again . . . a wonderful debut!”
—Paula Munier, USA Today bestselling author of the Mercy Carr series

“A delightful debut that drips with charm and intrigue. Gerri Lewis brings obituary writing to life!”
—Brad Parks, international bestselling author of Unthinkable

“A fun, pacy mystery starring an unflappable heroine. I loved every absorbing word of The Last Word and can’t wait for more Deadly Deadlines books!”
—Alicia Bessette, bestselling author of the Outer Banks Bookshop mystery series

“The combination of excellent writing, intriguing characters, and vivid details make The Last Word by Gerri Lewis an immersive reading experience. With its quick paced, action-packed story line, a dash of romance, and on-point, witty banter, The Last Word is a tribute to everything that makes cozy mysteries so captivating.”
—Jody Holford, author of the Wannabe Sleuth Mystery Series

“Who better than an obituary writer to distill the mysteries of life, death, and murder? I enjoyed every last word of this fun, fast-paced cozy.”
—Ann Claire, author of the Christie Bookshop Mysteries and the Cyclist’s Guide Mysteries

The Last Word by Gerri Lewis was a joy to read. Its obituary-writing sleuth is refreshingly original. The author’s smooth prose brought to life the Connecticut town in which the book is set, and moved the mystery along beautifully. I look forward to reading more books in this delightful series.”
—Tamar Myers, author of Meat Thy Maker

“In her first venture into fiction, Lewis has fashioned a crisp and engrossing cozy that’s deadly fun.”
—Jack Sanders, local historian and writer

“Now and again, you read a fresh voice in fiction and feel that you’ve found a pearl in a seashell. The Last Word by Gerri Lewis is just that. A book of great style, substance and with a plot that’ll keep you spellbound from the first to the last page. This wonderful and brilliant debut needs to be on the reading list of every fan of the quality crime novel.”
—Andrew F Gulli, Strand Magazine