The Keeper of Hidden Books (Paperback)

The Keeper of Hidden Books By Madeline Martin Cover Image

The Keeper of Hidden Books (Paperback)

$18.99


Out of Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
A NATIONAL BESTSELLER--for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Tattooist of Auschwitz

A BookBub Pick for Best Historical Fiction of Summer 2023

A heartwarming story about the power of books to bring us together, inspired by the true story of the underground library in WWII Warsaw, by the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Bookshop in London.

All her life, Zofia has found comfort in two things during times of hardship: books and her best friend, Janina. But no one could have imagined the horrors of the Nazi occupation in Warsaw. As the bombs rain down and Hitler's forces loot and destroy the city, Zofia finds that now books are also in need of saving.

With the death count rising and persecution intensifying, Zofia jumps to action to save her friend and salvage whatever books she can from the wreckage, hiding them away, and even starting a clandestine book club. She and her dearest friend never surrender their love of reading, even when Janina is forced into the newly formed ghetto.

But the closer Warsaw creeps toward liberation, the more dangerous life becomes for the women and their families - and escape may not be possible for everyone. As the destruction rages around them, Zofia must fight to save her friend and preserve her culture and community using the only weapon they have left - literature.

"Readers will be on the edge of their seats as they are transported...with Madeline Martin's vivid and inspiring characters." --Kelly Rimmer, author of The Warsaw Orphan

"Madeline Martin immerses us in the expertly rendered and fascinating worlds." --Natasha Lester, author of The Riviera House

Don't miss Madeline Martin's next heartwarming historical novel, The Booklover's Library

Also by Madeline Martin:

  • The Librarian Spy
  • The Last Bookshop in London

Product Details ISBN: 9781335455024
ISBN-10: 1335455027
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: August 1st, 2023
Pages: 416
Language: English