Hidden Gem (Hardcover)

Hidden Gem By Linda Liu, Linda Liu (Illustrator) Cover Image

Hidden Gem (Hardcover)

By Linda Liu, Linda Liu (Illustrator)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Apr 17 2:20am
(CHILDREN THREE TO SIX)

THIS BOOK ROCKS!!
(It also happens to be about a rock...)

Prepare to fall in love with this irresistible debut picture book and its quirky story of a rock's journey to find self-confidence with accessible social emotional themes, perfect for fans of Oddbird and Something's Wrong.

When a small pebble sees others gathering on the steps of the Museum of Rocks, he grows curious. Once inside the esteemed halls, he is shocked by what he discovers. The only rocks on display are glittering gemstones, geodes, and crystals!

These beautiful stones make him wonder: Can he be special, too? Perhaps he’ll find an answer in the World’s Most Beautiful Gem exhibition . . . or maybe, just maybe, he will find the answer inside himself.

"Breathtaking." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Linda Liu is an illustrator and a designer based in Southern California with a taste for tactile textures, saucy shapes, and palatable palettes. She graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design and now works freelance and full-time so she can be a girl boss and a girl employee at the same time. She is the author and illustrator of Hidden Gem and Sour Apple.

Linda Liu is an illustrator and a designer based in Southern California with a taste for tactile textures, saucy shapes, and palatable palettes. She graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design and now works freelance and full-time so she can be a girl boss and a girl employee at the same time. She is the author and illustrator of Hidden Gem and Sour Apple.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250835079
ISBN-10: 1250835070
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: July 11th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English

A Book Riot Must-Read Picture Book of 2023 Selection

"While there are many recent children’s books that celebrate identity, make room for this one, which blends subtle humor and superb design for a profound, deftly conveyed message. " —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Liu has created a delightful, reflective, rhyming, and engaging book for emerging readers. Her illustrations at first glance look simple, but are unassumingly detailed with social justice, racial, and gender identity connections that allow parents and teachers to talk about inclusion, tolerance, and acceptance within the context of the story, that can easily transfer to daily life and interactions. Children will enjoy having this book read to them and reading it themselves." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Alongside message-forward text, it’s the glowing colors of Liu’s distinctive visual style that carry the overarching message of self-wonder and innate worth." —Publishers Weekly

"Liu’s art matches the quirky tone of the book, using predominantly geometrical shapes with beautifully textured watercolor patterns . . . the reminder to love yourself as you are is still sweet and worthy of sharing." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books