A Little Like Waking (Hardcover)

A Little Like Waking By Adam Rex Cover Image

A Little Like Waking (Hardcover)

List Price: $20.99
Our Price: $19.99
(Save: $1.00 5%)
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 20 3:10am
(CHILDREN 14 & UP)

You’ve Reached Sam meets The Good Place in this deeply-felt, surreal and fully illustrated love story about a girl, a boy, a dreamer, and a dream from best-selling and award-winning author Adam Rex.

Zelda is stuck in a dream. A very strange dream, where people can fly, bears sneeze money, and her childhood cat, Patches, is somehow alive - despite being run over years ago. Things only get stranger when Zelda meets Langston, a sweet if overly timid guy who feels more real to her than anyone she’s ever met.

As Zelda and Langston explore the far reaches of the dreamscape together, they find themselves growing closer and closer. But what they uncover along the way pushes them towards a truth neither of them wants to face. Will it turn out that he's the guy of her dreams, or is she the girl of his?

Full of mind-bending artwork, Adam Rex's A Little Like Waking is a tender, insightful read that defies time, space, and expectation that's perfect for fans of Every Day and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

Adam Rex is the award-winning author and illustrator of more than forty books including the New York Times bestsellers Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich, School’s First Day of School, and Chu’s Day, as well as The True Meaning of Smekday, which was adapted for film by DreamWorks. He lives in Tucson, Arizona, with his cat, dog, son, and wife.
adamrex.com

Product Details ISBN: 9781250621917
ISBN-10: 1250621917
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: August 1st, 2023
Pages: 400
Language: English

"Wildly inventive and achingly touching, this is an exquisite book about longing, love, and grief that mesmerizes on every page. This book is a dreamy, fantastic treasure." -- Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and You'd Be Home Now

"A Little Like Waking is an adventure of a love story that brings the dream world to life with immersive clarity. Whimsical, beautiful, and one of a kind." -- Rachael Lippincott, New York Times bestselling coauthor of She Gets the Girl

"Romantic and constantly surprising, mixing small-town charm with surreal fantasy, A Little Like Waking is a brilliant love letter to the magic of the human mind." -- E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars

"A charming, funny, highly imaginative story that invites long thoughts about the nature of reality and the enduring importance of romance." -- Booklist, starred review

"
A wonderfully inventive story bursting with humor and heart." -- Kirkus Reviews

"
Rex’s quest narrative is like none other, sure to leave readers marveling at the wonder of dreams and the power of imagination." -- BookPage

"
By turns existential and goofy, this campy, off-the-beaten-path story, propelled via an immediate, stream-of-conscious voice and sprinkled with beguiling artwork, ruminates on themes of loss and love." -- Publishers Weekly

"Surreal...Revelations toward the end, with some twists and turns, provide a payoff that invites re-readings." -- Horn Book Magazine