The Sportswriter: Bascombe Trilogy (1) (Paperback)

The Sportswriter: Bascombe Trilogy (1) By Richard Ford Cover Image

The Sportswriter: Bascombe Trilogy (1) (Paperback)



Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Bascombe Trilogy series.

In this “powerful” blockbuster of a novel (The New York Times), the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Independence Day introduces his most beloved character, failed novelist turned sportswriter Frank Bascombe, during an Easter weekend, as he moves through the great losses of his life. 

As a sportswriter, Frank Bascombe makes his living studying people—men, mostly—who live entirely within themselves. This is a condition that Frank himself aspires to. But at thirty-eight, he suffers from incurable dreaminess, occasional pounding of the heart, and the not-too-distant losses of a career, a son, and a marriage. In the course of the Easter week in which Ford's moving novel transpires, Bascombe will end up losing the remnants of his familiar life, though with his spirits soaring.
RICHARD FORD is the author of six novels and three collections of stories. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Independence Day and the PEN/Malamud Award for excellence in short fiction. Ford's best known titles are The Sportswriter, Independence Day, The Lay of the Land, and Let Me Be Frank with You.
Product Details ISBN: 9780679762102
ISBN-10: 0679762108
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: June 13th, 1995
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Bascombe Trilogy
"Powerful.... So pliant and persuasive that we are instantly drawn into his story." —The New York Times