Murder on a School Night (Hardcover)

Murder on a School Night By Kate Weston Cover Image

Murder on a School Night (Hardcover)

$19.99


Out of Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

A hilarious murder mystery–rom-com from author and comedian Kate Weston investigates the sinister side of social media when bullying turns bloody—and a string of classmate deaths by menstrual cup and sanitary pad sets amateur sleuth Kerry hot on the trail of a menstrual murderer. Perfect for fans of Truly Devious and Fleabag.

There’s never a good time to find a dead body, sure. But what about finding a dead body while you’re trying to kiss your crush?

Kerry had different plans for her first high school party—like not going. All she wanted to do was stay home in the safety of retro rom-coms and her strict retainer schedule. Instead her BFF, fiercely outgoing mystery-fanatic Annie, has roped her into going to the party to investigate who’s cyberbullying Heather, the most popular girl in school.

Finding herself getting close with her dreamy crush is odd enough, but when the two of them discover Heather’s second in command, Selena, suffocated with a menstrual cup, things get really weird.

And when a second student turns up dead, this time with a sanitary pad across the eyes, Annie and Kerry—no matter how much she resists—are officially on the case to stop the menstrual murderer . . . period.

Kate Weston is an ex-stand-up comedian (never won any awards) and a bookseller (never won any awards at that either). She now writes books for teenagers. Her first book, Diary of a Confused Feminist, was longlisted for the CWIP Prize and nominated for the Carnegie Medal. This is her third book for teens.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063260276
ISBN-10: 0063260271
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: July 4th, 2023
Pages: 384
Language: English

"Mean Girls meets Midsomer Murders with a dash of Louise Rennison in this genre-blending story that centers girls’ friendships and two ambitious best friends. Kerry and Annie are self-absorbed friends whose obsession over their lack of popularity results in hysterically funny dialogue and a lighthearted tone. Kerry’s crush on newcomer Scott offers sweet diversions. However, what really elevates the goofy capers and over-the-top scheming is how well Kerry and Annie know both themselves and each other. Secrets add depth and complexity to this insightful parody of teenage life. A nuanced, hilarious page-turning romantic mystery." — Kirkus Reviews

"Channeling the 1980s cult classic Heathers right down to the croquet set, Weston (Diary of a Confused Feminist) flaunts cozy English charm and puerile slapstick comedy in this propulsive mystery . . . The girls’ chemistry as best friends and partners-in-crime-solving is energizing. Refreshing attention to sex positivity and period politics combined with Weston’s timing—both comedic and plot driven—ensure a laugh-out-loud romp." — Publishers Weekly

"A little bit Heathers, a little bit Booksmart, this British import is a campy, never-too-serious skewering of faux feminism that embraces the ups and downs of friendship." — Booklist

"Kerry narrates the investigation with the relatable energy of someone who would much rather be at home reading the story she’s telling. The bestie protagonists are reliably charming, admirably supportive, and refreshingly transparent about their horny, frustrating, unfair experiences as young women in this Agatha Christie-esque mystery for the Pretty Little Liars set." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books