Player One: What Is to Become of Us: A Novel in Five Hours (Paperback)

$15.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


International bestselling author Douglas Coupland delivers a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end.
In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species and that there is no turning back.

About the Author


Douglas Coupland was born on December 30, 1961, on a Canadian Armed Forces base in Baden-Sollingen, (West) Germany. He has a degree in Japanese business science and in sculpture. He grew up and lives in Vancouver, British Columbia. Coupland's previous books are Generation X (the origin of the popular phrase), Microserfs, Shampoo Planet, Polaroids From the Dead, Life After God, and Girlfriend in a Coma.

Praise For…


Douglas Coupland has surely reserved his place at the top table of North American fiction.” Independent on Sunday

Somewhere deep in Coupland’s consciousness is a little door marked greatness.’” Guardian

Douglas Coupland may be one of the smartest, wittiest writers around.” Esquire

Eighteen years on from Generation X, Coupland still satirizes pop culture better than anyone.” GQ

Product Details
ISBN: 9780887849688
ISBN-10: 0887849687
Publisher: House of Anansi Press
Publication Date: October 2010
Pages: 246
Language: English