Player One: What Is to Become of Us (Paperback)

$15.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


International bestselling author Douglas Coupland delivers a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end.
In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species — and that there is no turning back.

Praise for Player One: What Is to Become of Us…


“Douglas Coupland has surely reserved his place at the top table of North American fiction.” — Independent on Sunday

“Somewhere deep in Coupland’s consciousness is a little door marked ‘greatness.’” — Guardian

“Douglas Coupland may be one of the smartest, wittiest writers around.” — Esquire

“Eighteen years on from Generation X, Coupland still satirizes pop culture better than anyone.” — GQ

Product Details ISBN-10: 0887849687
ISBN-13: 9780887849688
Published: House of Anansi Press, 10/01/2010
Pages: 256
Language: English