The Bindery

 

The Bindery is a multi-purpose events space and bookstore located at 1727 Haight Street and available to rent for your event. To inquire about renting The Bindery, please fill out this form or contact bindery [at] booksmith [dot] com. To get updates about The Bindery, sign up for Booksmith's newsletter (left bar). 

 


 

UPCOMING EVENTS:

 

NOVEMBER

 

>> Sat, Nov 18 / Private event / 8pm

>> Sun, Nov 19 / Jessica Yu / Garden of the Lost and Abandoned / free / 4pm

>> Tues, Nov 21 / James J. Owens with Jenny Ming / The World is Just a Book Away / free / 7:30pm

>> Wed, Nov 22 / Nine, Genital Quartz, Mas Coad, Pregnancy Half-Pact / $5 at the door / 8pm

>> Mon, Nov 27 / Bay Area Generations / $7-10 at the door / 7:30pm

>> Tues, Nov 28 / Spring Washam / A Fierce Heart / free / 7:30pm

>> Wed, Nov 29 / Helen Benedict with Ayelet Waldman / Wolf Season / free / 7:30pm

>> Thurs, Nov 30 / Brent Reichenberger / Adorable Monsters / free / 7:30pm

 

BEYOND

 

>> Fri, Dec 1 / Quiet Lightning 8-year anniversary party / TBA soon / 7:30pm

>> Sat, Dec 2 / Absurd: A Wildly Unreasonable Variety Show / $20-25 in advance / 7:30pm

>> Tues, Dec 5 / School Benefit Day / free / 10a-10p

>> Fri, Dec 8 / The Nocturnists / TBA soon / 10a-10p

>> Mon, Dec 11 / Contemporary World Fiction: Celebrating Emerging Local Voices / free / 7:30pm

>> Tues, Dec 12 / Holiday Shopping Night / free / 6pm

>> Wed, Dec 13 / Experimental Music Night / $5 at the door, more TBA soon / 8pm

>> Thurs, Dec 14 / Private event / 7pm

>> Tues, Dec 19 / Holiday Shopping Night / free / 6pm

>> Tues, Jan 9 / Colin Winnette / The Job of the Wasp / free / 7:30pm

>> Wed, Jan 17 / BookSwap: Anti-Resolutions / $15 / tickets / 7pm

>> Wed, Jan 24 / Experimental Music Night / $5 at the door, more TBA soon / 8pm

>> Thurs, Jan 25 / Raymond Caballero / Orozco / free / 7:30pm

>> Wed, Jan 31 / On the Cusp / more TBA soon 

>> Thurs, Feb 1 / Sandra Allen + Esmé Weijun Wang / A Kind of Mirraculas Paradisefree / 7:30pm

>> Tues, Feb 6 / Jessica Graham / Good Sex / free, more TBA soon / 8pm

>> Thurs, Feb 15 / COPUS / $10 in advance, $15 at the door / 8pm

>> Thurs, Mar 1 / Brittney Cooper / Eloquent Rage / free / 7:30pm

>> Thurs, Mar 8 / Lee Bruno / Misfits, Merchants & Mayhem / free / 7:30pm

>> Thurs, Mar 29 / C. Dale Young

 

For a list of past events, click here.

 


 

Other Bindery news: 

  • Melville House Blog: How a new bookstore can come out of anywhere and become anything: an interview with the staff of the Booksmith (and the Bindery)
  • Shelf Awareness: Booksmith Opening The Bindery
  • Hoodline: 'The Bindery' Bookseller, Café, & Event Space Debuts On Haight

 

 


 

 

[photos by J Sparenberg]